• Contractor
  • Clermont, FL
Votes |
Orlando Area (Clermont) Noob Checking In

Lane Register
  • Contractor
  • Clermont, FL
Posted Jan 12 2016, 17:54

Hi BP - I'm Lane. I'm a 28 year old contractor at a crossroad in my career. I own a small commercial/industrial construction firm in Ocala (about an hour north of Orlando). I'll save the why and the details for future posts, but I've decided to make some changes to my career.

I don't have any direct experience in real estate investing, but I have a Master's degree in Agricultural Economics and wrote my thesis on business geographical concentration and also got an MBA with a concentration in Real Estate along the way. 

For my career, I'm considering a shift in my geographical focus from Ocala to the West Orange and Lake County areas and also moving toward residential construction/remodeling. I'm also exploring options outside of construction, but I don't see myself straying far from the real estate sector.  Additionally, I hope to develop a role as a real estate investor as I progress.

I'm really interested in meeting and hearing from folks who've been down similar paths to my own. Also, I'd love to get involved in meetups in the Orlando area.

User Stats

Votes
Lara Krakowiecki
  • Real Estate Professional
  • Detroit, MI
Votes |
  • Detroit, MI
Replied Jan 12 2016, 18:02

Hey! Welcome to BP! I am also a new investor from the Clermont, FL area. I have also been looking at getting involved in a REIA. The biggest one I've found is CFRI. I have not had the chance to attend a meeting yet, however there is one for Lake County tomorrow evening actually in Clermont. I'm looking forward to attending.

Good luck with your real estate investing! 

User Stats

Votes
Lane Register
  • Contractor
  • Clermont, FL
Votes |
  • Contractor
  • Clermont, FL
Replied Jan 12 2016, 18:10
Originally posted by @Lara Krakowiecki: