Tara Gupta
  • Oakton, VA
Votes |
Looking for GREEN General Contractor, Plumber, Electrician

Tara Gupta
  • Oakton, VA
Posted Jan 18 2018, 07:20

Hello all,

I'm looking to do some sustainable remodeling in the Providence area. I want to find a general contractor who specializes in green remodels-diverting waste from the landfill, replacing windows, insulating the attic with scrap textiles or soybean foam. I will need an electrician who can hook up solar and a battery pack, and a plumber who can hook up a rainwater capture system. 

Anyone know someone who might fit the bill?

User Stats

Votes
Jim Goebel
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Des Moines, IA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Des Moines, IA
Replied Jan 19 2018, 09:35

@Tara Gupta

I'm an engineer and have worked on solar projects numerous times with a local solar installer/company.

To be honest there's not a ton of tribal knowledge in doing a solar project from an electrician perspective.  The biggest possible gotcha is the LV wiring between panels and to the inverter.  The way the industry is structured from my experience the electrician often 'may' oversee the project, but typically you engage with a 'turnkey' solar type company to do all of the following:

1. front end financial analysis
  2. get through the regulatory process and most utilities require filing what's called an 'interconnection agreement'
  3. bring in an engineer like me to draft plans, as required
  4. then once the interconnection has been approved, they shop the install to an electrician
  5. often in house resources from that solar company are used to actually mount panels and do most of the LV wiring, and they will leave the 120/240 etc wiring to the electrician

Granted, the above process unfortunately has a lot of 'soft costs' built in that drive up the cost of these types of projects for a homeowner, but they still do pencil out in some cases.