Skip to content
Creative Real Estate Financing

User Stats

Votes
Logan Crowder
  • Realtor
  • Vancouver, British Columbia
Votes |
Are these plausible ideas for a no money down strategy?

Logan Crowder
  • Realtor
Posted Jul 11 2018, 11:15

So, I have a problem. I'm a Realtor... Not that the field of work isn't great or anything but being a Realtor means I'm self-employed which also means I can't get a conventional loan from a bank or broker until I have at least 2 years of recorded income. I've been heavily involved in real estate for 2 or so years now and have what I would consider an above average knowledge of real estate investing thanks both to being an executive of a local investors group at 18 and also as a Realtor for close to a year now.

I've listened to if not hundreds, thousands of hours of podcasts revolved around real estate so am very familiar with "no money down" investing which is the route I am trying to go, however, it's off to a bumpy start so far. This is the strategy I came up with for funding a deal when I come across one...

Option 1) Hard Money + Vendor Take-Back

One of the Realtors in my office runs a MIC (Mortgage Investment Fund) and said they would do a max 75% LTV loan at a rate of about 6% for 7 or 8 points and they will most likely want the 1st mortgage due to the amount of risk involved as I have never done a deal and am 20 years old. If I got the 75% from them that leaves 25% remaining I am to come up with. I'm looking at buying a fixer-upper in Kamloops, BC with a cost of roughly $350,000 so the remaining $87,500 (25%) would be a second loan by way of a Vendor Take-Back. In order for this to work, I would have to find someone with substantial equity in there home.

"As I'm typing, option 1 to me sounds like the best option"

Option 2) Two separate Hard Money loans