• Oakland, CA
Votes |
Should I or should I not Refi??

Ricardo Flores
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Oakland, CA
Posted Nov 14 2018, 20:21

Hey everyone,

I have a few questions, hoping someone can answer. I've been looking into refinancing my primary home to remove the PMI on my FHA loan. Can someone let me know if this is still possible, even with the rising interest rates? They way I calculated the numbers, I would save around $50 monthly. What type of credit score would help reduce the interest rate. I know 740 would be great, but im roughly in the 690-700's.

Below are my numbers..

Home value roughly 470k-480k

Outstanding loan 338k, 28 years to go

Current Interest Rate 3.75%

monthly payment $1,615 without taxes and insurance. 

PMI monthly payments $235

Any info will help.. Thanks in advance.

User Stats

Votes
Jordan Decuir
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Katy, TX
Votes |
  • Katy, TX
Replied Nov 14 2018, 20:55
@Ricardo Flores I am by no means a mortgage professional so please bear that in mind. From what I’ve gathered from mortgage folks that I’ve known over they years, generally speaking, 740 should get you the best rates, and each 20-point incremement below that may get you a slightly-higher rate (1/8th of a percent or so for each 20 point drop). This is the way that I understand it but I’m sure each case and lender can differ and markets tend to be fluid over time as well. Based on your numbers, it looks like your LTV would be roughly 71% if the home would appraise for $470k, so you may be able to get rid of the PMI based on that fact alone by speaking with your current lender and being willing to pay for an appraisal. If I were you, I would check your current loan doc’s, and call your current lender and see if you can get an appraisal to wipe away the PMI because your LTV is significantly lower than what is required, probably 80%. Hope this helps. Best of luck to you.

User Stats

Votes
Londell Reedman
  • Pinole, CA
Votes |
  • Pinole, CA