User Stats

Votes
Tonya Thompson
Votes |
Is this a good deal? Cash on Cash Rate? Annualized Total Return

Tonya Thompson
Posted Jul 24 2018, 06:33

Hi Newbie Here

Considering purchasing a 3br 2 bath  (1136 sq feet) to rent in the Texas area (rural area near Beaumont, TX)

Price = $59900

Down Payment = 10% (through finance company listing it for sale)

Interest rate = 6% (through the finance company listing it for sale)

No closing costs

Property Tax = $986/year

Mgmt Fee = 10% of rent

Home Insurance = $1100/year

We would rent the house for $900 to $1000/month

This would be our first investment property. House is in good condition. No major repairs needed. 

Is this a good deal?

User Stats

Votes
Joe Hines
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • San Jose, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • San Jose, CA
Replied Jul 24 2018, 08:05

Hey Tonya,

Just by eyeballing it, I'd say it was okay.  I'd recommend using the Bigger Pockets Calculator:  https://www.biggerpockets.com/buy-and-hold-calcula...

It does a decent job of breaking down the cost and income variables and calculating the key performance measures for real estate investment.  When using the calculator, be realistic with your costs as there are a lot of things newbies tend to overlook or underweight and then they find themselves with an underperforming property.

So some advice about calculating the financials:

Initial Costs: Even though you don't have any repair costs, include maybe $1K for paint or incidentals.  I also set aside 3% of the purchase price into a Capital Expense account.  For your property, that means about $4K of initial costs.  You might be able to get away with far less than $1K depending on the condition of the property, but I've seen few bank or finance company owned properties that didn't need something such as a big yard cleanup, trees removed, paint, carpet, etc.