Dylan Hargrove
  • Dallas/Fort Worth
Votes |
Tax Sale Questions (Tarrant County)

Dylan Hargrove
  • Dallas/Fort Worth
Posted Sep 11 2018, 08:54

Hello All,

I've been looking through some online resources that show some tax sale properties and I have a few questions I was hoping some of you may know, that I wasn't able to gather from the website.

1. What is the "Adjudged Value"? It differs from the minimum bid and I'm not sure why that number is there/where it comes from.

2. Are all tax sales in Texas (or at least Tarrant County), only executed with cash?

3. Say I purchase a property only to find out later that there were some additional liens against it non-tax related, how would this be resolved since the deed is transferred soon after the auction?

I'm still a newbie and the Tax Sales seem like some great opportunities, but with a lot more paperwork and possible complications so I want to be as informed as possible.

Thanks all! 

Dylan

User Stats

Votes
Tyler H.
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Fort Worth, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Fort Worth, TX
Replied Sep 12 2018, 15:54

- Adjudged value is the market value of the property, as determined by the court.

- Tax Sales are all cash (cashiers check).

- Recommend having your title co. rep do a prelim search on a property you intend to bid on, prior to purchase. 

- Usually a tax deed will wipe out any other liens, but may require add'l legal steps--consult an attorney on this.

User Stats

Votes
Dylan Hargrove
  • Dallas/Fort Worth
Votes |
  • Dallas/Fort Worth
Replied Sep 13 2018, 06:45

@Tyler H. Thanks for the response, appreciate the feedback. I will definitely be interested in some of these properties... great advice on the title co. rep doing a search!

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Felipe Lois Affini
  • Flipper