Real Estate Technology

User Stats

Votes
James Masotti
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Washington Township, NJ
Votes |
Project management software - how do you manage your projects?

James Masotti
Pro Member
Posted Apr 29 2017, 09:14

As things with real estate are starting to pick up for me I'm now getting to a position where I could feasibly have more than one project running at a time and am trying to look at options for how best to keep these straight and on top of all the deadlines. The obvious answer to me is a free web based project management tool like Asana, Trello, or Freedcamp (there are many more I'm just getting started looking). However I also acknowledge there may be other options available out there.

I'm curious how others who have scaled kept track of their time lines and contractors once they had 2 or 3 projects going at once. Did you use project management software? Excel template? Keep it in your head? When did you change from your initial project management tool for 2-3 properties to something more sophisticated for managing 4-10 projects at once.

Greatly appreciate everyone's thoughts and contributions!

User Stats

Votes
Bill Carovano
  • Tampa, FL
Votes |
  • Tampa, FL
Replied Apr 29 2017, 09:50

Hi James, I would suggest taking a look at Podio as well.  It's hard to beat the flexibility of Podio, although it does require some time & effort to set it up.

User Stats

Votes
Josh C.
  • Property Manager
  • Indianapolis, IN
Votes |
  • Property Manager
  • Indianapolis, IN
Replied Apr 29 2017, 11:49

Interested to follow this. I use google drive and FreshBooks but it's a lot of in my head of who I hired and when they need to be done. I am typically managing 5-10 construction projects at a time. Honestly if you have enough work full time guys are the way to go. Then you stop getting nickeled and dimed and they all most always show up. Ha. Still not always. They are contractors after all.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|