• Rental Property Investor
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Votes |
Guidance on first BRRRR

Demetrius Ward
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Posted Nov 18 2020, 11:31

Hello BiggerPockets family, I am new to Real Estate investing by way of the BRRRR strategy. Like most rookies, I have a YouTube University degree and I've listened to hours of BP podcast. For the most part, I understand the process and what it entails in its various steps. I have a realtor sending me deals daily, I'm in many local Facebook groups in my area and come across deals that way as well. I think I'm stuck in what they call the analysis paralysis stage. I've convinced myself to start after the holidays. If you're still with me here I'm looking for things I should have squared away before even making an offer. I would like to use hard money to finance the deal my credit score is excellent, but I know that isn't everything. I'd be grateful for any kind of advice or information.

User Stats

Votes
Replied Nov 18 2020, 12:11

@Demetrius Ward I bought a long distance investment property using conventional financing just to get the ball rolling. We closed a couple weeks ago and are getting a renter in at the end of the week.

I’m looking to get more creative in my next deal. Good luck and I hope you have a good experience.

User Stats

Votes
J. Henriquez
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Surf City, NC
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Surf City, NC
Replied Nov 18 2020, 12:15

Hi @Demetrius Ward,

When using the BRRRR strategy, here are a few things to consider before putting in an offer.

Financing - You mentioned you want to use hard money. Before putting in an offer you should get preapproved by multiple hard money lenders. This will allow you to shop rates and terms and determine which hard money lender will work best for the deal. It is best if you have them pull your credit within a 30 day period so that it doesn't affect your credit score negatively.