• Investor
  • Sacramento, CA
Votes |
Hold cash or invest?

Bruce C.
  • Investor
  • Sacramento, CA
Posted Oct 30 2016, 11:33

I'm still new to BP and would love to hear from some investors on this topic. I'm curious where others stand on holding cash now or investing, particularly in California and Sacramento, where I live. The financial markets seem pretty uncertain, the Fed can't make up its mind about when to raise rates, and some real estate markets (e.g. San Francisco) have been cooling over the past year. 

I know it's a general question and all markets are different and may be at different stages of a cycle. Does anyone have thoughts about holding cash or investing at this time.  Of course, a good deal can appear in any part of the cycle. That's a given. I'm wondering if folks are leaning one way or the other in general. 

Are people holding cash or investing right now? 

User Stats

Votes
Brent M.
  • Investor
  • Hayward, CA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Hayward, CA
Replied Oct 30 2016, 11:48

IRR viewpoint puts most US markets in late recovery, followed by oversupply, then recession. I'm shopping for multifamily, but finding it a seller's market. I made most of my current stack buying heavy in 09 and selling most of it this year. I'll buy the right property, but I'm not speculating on appreciation. That being said, I'm holding my Bay Area primary forever- irreplaceable location.

User Stats

Votes
Brandon L.#4 New Member Introductions Contributor
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Falls Church
Votes |
Brandon L.#4 New Member Introductions Contributor
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Falls Church
Replied Oct 30 2016, 11:49

I am not in your market, but I am curious to check out the info that led you to believe the housing market is cooling? Corelogic predicts prices in California to rise by 9.4% in the next 12 months. 

The housing report showed sales dropping, but I feel that is a result of low inventory, not of decreased buyer demand.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|