• Phoenix, AZ
Votes |
A RE newbie looking to invest in Rockford, IL

Chidi Dillibe
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Phoenix, AZ
Posted Jul 10 2017, 12:06

Hello all,

I'm an out of state newbie investor looking at a couple properties in Rockford, IL and would like to get some local insight and help before I pull the trigger. The properties i'm looking at look good in the pictures, buying cost and potential cash flow but a part of me is saying..."If it was this easy, EVERYONE would be doing it". The last thing I want to do is go in on a "good looking" deal that local folks here on BP could easily point out red flags in. I would love to be able to speak with a local Rockford, IL investor and share a couple minutes in a phone call. I know people have busy and demanding lives but any potential help or advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to read.

Chidi

User Stats

Votes
Eddie Egelston
  • Residential Real Estate Broker
  • Crystal Lake, IL
Votes |
  • Residential Real Estate Broker
  • Crystal Lake, IL
Replied Jul 10 2017, 13:01

Hi Chidi-

I will not pretend to be an "expert" in Rockford. (I live about 45 minutes east of there)

My first question to you, is why Rockford? Unless you know something I do not, there is likely no potential for appreciation. I have shown property in Rockford, there are some "slumly" areas, pardon the expression. I haven't looked at prices recently, but last time I checked there were houses selling for the price of a new Chevy.

Maybe tantalizing, but surely there are better areas nationwide!? Also as others will chime in, being a landlord of "C" or "D" class areas is tough enough. You want to do it as a newbie from 2000 miles away? WHY? haha

User Stats

Votes
Chidi Dillibe
  • Phoenix, AZ
Votes |
  • Phoenix, AZ
Replied Jul 10 2017, 13:13