• Midland, TX
Votes |
Should I purchase during an oil crash?

Jace Prozeller
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Midland, TX
Posted Mar 16 2015, 21:34

Howdy everybody, 

This is actually my very first post on here and I am completely new to real estate investing. I have invested much of my time learning how this whole ordeal works but, I still have a few thoughts that I would like to run by y'all. 

Since I've started researching, I have knocked out a lot of distractions (watching T.V., video games, Facebook, etc.) to keep me more focused on my goal. I've looked into many different types of RE. To start my journey I want to get out of my overpriced  apartment and into a duplex free of rent. Good first choice? Why? 

I live in an oil boom town and right now everyone is hurting for good money with no signs of any prices dropping. I am afraid of purchasing and not being able to fill the other half of the building thus leaving me in a slump. But I guess thats what risk taking is all about, right? Do you think a duplex, with how the market is, is a wise decision for a first investment?

User Stats

Votes
Tyler Flagg
  • Investor
  • Pensacola, FL
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Pensacola, FL
Replied Mar 16 2015, 21:49

@Jace Prozeller (cool name by the way) Welcome to BP! Be sure to introduce yourself in the New Member Introductions forum. Networking is half the battle...so be sure to start early.

First off, I commend you for knocking out all of your distractions. I decided to cut my cable cord about a year ago and it has paid huge dividends. It's amazing how much you can accomplish without mindless entertainment.

I definitely think that the Duplex is a great idea. Heck, if you want to, find a triplex or quadplex. Take advantage of an FHA loan on a 4 family house and, assuming that you do your math correctly, you'll be living rent free with cash flow to boot. There have been a number of articles written on this topic dubbed "House-Hacking" if you want to look it up on BP.