Votes
David Ted Hren
Pro Member
Votes |
Managing property for family.

David Ted Hren
Pro Member
Posted Jan 29 2024, 15:42

Hello BP Community, I am new to real estate, ALL things!!!!! I have been studying any books i can get my hands on. listening to podcasts for the previous 10 months. attending local meetups, meat some very knowledgeable individuals. i have been bit by the real estate bug i cant stop talking, asking, listening, all things real estate. have a family member who asked me if i wanted to manage a rental property for them to help me and them. they have been using a property management company, but they want to help me get my feet wet. Blessings for sure! my Question is: should i set my self up a license? Do I Need a license? their property is already established as rental property with an LLC, TPT. Thank you for reading and any advice would be much appreciated!!!

DTH 

User Stats

Votes
Greg Scott
Pro Member
#1 Buying & Selling Real Estate Contributor
  • Rental Property Investor
  • SE Michigan
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 Buying & Selling Real Estate Contributor
  • SE Michigan
Replied Jan 29 2024, 17:02

In many (all?) states if you are managing a property owned by someone else for a fee, you need to be a licensed real estate agent. 

User Stats

Votes
Brandon Vanderford
  • Property Manager
  • Raleigh, NC
Votes |
  • Property Manager
  • Raleigh, NC
Replied Jan 29 2024, 17:19

I can confirm that you must be licensed in North Carolina, and as Greg suggests, that is probably the case nationwide. 

Perhaps you can tell your family member that you would love to manage their property, but need to get your license first? You could get the license in under ninety days, and then affiliate with a firm that allows property management. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Michael Smythe