• Flipper
  • East Dallas
Votes |
To permit or not to permit ??

John Berg
  • Flipper
  • East Dallas
Posted Aug 2 2013, 08:06
This can be very expensive and time-consuming decision. I've been flipping homes in Dallas for a 6 years. I continually struggle as to whether to get permits or not. When I do it usually costs me two to three weeks and thousands of dollars (i.e. Inspectors arbitrarily telling you to rewire the house). On the other hand you must disclose whether you got permits or not when you sell. I have listened to all the BP Podcasts and I'm surprised this is not more of a topic for flippers... To permit or not to permit?

User Stats

Votes
Darren Sager
  • Investor
  • Tampa, FL
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Tampa, FL
ModeratorReplied Aug 2 2013, 11:31

John Berg If you're doing work that requires a permit than you should get one. Here in NJ we have a Seller's disclosure form which the seller has to fill out and sign. If you don't tell the truth on the form about work that was or wasn't done you're liable.

As an real estate agent I can tell you its important. Factor it into your time table. If you consistently flip in a certain town you might get them to come inspect sooner than later since you're giving them constant income. Town will also like you because with the improvements they can increase the taxes on the house.

User Stats

Votes
Jon Holdman
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Mercer Island, WA
Votes |
  • Mercer Island, WA
ModeratorReplied Aug 4 2013, 11:20

I think its not more of a topic of discussion because there's little to discuss. I agree with Darren Sager. If the work requires permits, get them. I've never had
"Inspectors arbitrarily telling you to rewire the house". I have had inspectors tell me to do work I didn't expect, but its not arbitrary. You were doing work that required rewiring and didn't expect it.